The End is Even Nearer!

I’m about 80% done with my portfolio, I think, and I’m really liking the way it looks. I love the top bar with the links and the ability to put those portfolio links underneath “About Portfolio.” The only annoying thing about this theme I’m using is everything goes in alphabetical order. Honestly, the only part that bothers me is how “Design” comes second, when I’d much rather have it last. I think that’s a minor trouble right now, though. It’s probably a minor trouble, in general. I’ll get over it. The argument I’m making is that writing is helping. Interesting, right? There are so many ways that writing equates with helping. I mention in my introductory essay that whether it’s a user manual instructing tutors how to cancel an appointment or a research paper informing readers on stem cell research, the words are there to help–to help tutors/readers understand something new. It goes beyond that, though. Writing helps not only the reader, but the writer, as well–and yes, that can be taken two different ways. Writing helps writers because good readers make good writers, and writing helps the writer (of the specific document) by working their skills and even providing therapy, if it’s reflective writing. Most of my blogs were therapeutic to write. I’ve been keeping personal journal since the fourth grade, and I can’t even begin to describe how much personal, reflective writing has aided both my writing skills and my sanity. The importance of reflective writing can’t even be put into words. I learn so much about myself every single time I write about my life, my work, etc. I don’t know where I would be without writing.

That got a little sappy. But really, though. It’s my favorite thing in the world, and I could not have had a better experience with my capstone. There was so much reflection involved, and that’s what formulated my final argument for my portfolio.

Reflective writing/learning: I’m a huge fan.